The Beginning of Things

When I was born, I was mistaken to be a boy at first. Mom recall this whenever I do something that typical ‘girls’ don’t. Even then, she never told me to stop doing that, whatever it may be, like climbing trees, nighttime wanderings, picking fights, preferring fence way over gate way, etc. Still, I wasn’t as big a troublemaker as my siblings. But I always had my own share of mischief, making me Ramona of our household.

I don’t remember how I was as a baby, but according to my parents and siblings, I was a very silent kid. I mean, not at all the all-night-crying-and-never-let-mommy-sleep kind. But mom had to pay back big time once that peaceful babyhood got over. I joined the legendary troublemakers club. But mine were mostly solo missions. Since my siblings were much older than me, I had to play alone until I was 4. I had cousins, but I preferred being on my own mostly. Those days I had two imaginary friends, a girl Koti and a boy Moni. I have no idea from where did I come up with those names!Β 

One day, I suddenly felt like there is something missing about my life. Like, I need some change. I was playing in our dining hall with Koti and Moni, I asked them what is it that I’m missing out, Koti was the one who got the perfect answer. I shouted out for mom, cuz it was really urgent a matter. She came running.

“What is it honey? You okay? Did something happen?”

Non-stop concern!

“Nothing mom! I’m going to school. Thought you should know so that you won’t be running like this when you see me missing”. Little did I know about the long procedures that needed while joining a school !

I still remember the way she looked at me. That ‘I-almost-had-a-heart-attack-thinking-something-terrible-happened-you-git!’ look. Knowing better about my stubbornness, she got me ready and took me to the nearest kindergarten. It was a little after the start of term, since I’m a February kid, I was not yet of age. Once the formalities were over, mom took me to the class. I turned to her,

“Okay mom. Bye. Be on time to pick me up.”

“It’s your first day, baby. You don’t know anyone here. You know I can stay with you for first few days”

“Mom! I was so bored of being with you all the time that I came here. If you are staying with me, what’s the point of coming all the way here? Besides, you got work you left halfway at home, remember?”

The sneaky KG teacher couldn’t stop herself that she let out the laugh she was holding.

Mom was not at all pleased with this turn of events. She had got a lot of plans for my first day at school like get me ready properly, take some pictures, stay with me on my first day, see how I’m doing etc etc. After all, I was the youngest of the lot then! But she had no choice but to leave.

Even though I was this self contained, ‘you-don’t-bother-me-I-won’t-bother-you’ kind of person, I made some really great friends. Friends for life.

~ This was where it all began. And yeah, it was my sister named me ‘Ramona the pest’. Before I knew the story of Ramona, I thought it was her love for me. Once mommy told me the story, I started calling her ‘Beezus’. The clarity of description and dialogue courtesy goes to mommy, daddy and my siblings who’d tell and retell these events to anyone ready to listen. And about the featured image, There is this play on PlayBuzz, which let you know what would be the name of your autobiography, based on a few questions. And I got this image as the answer. ~

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Hiba says:

    Wow, you were like such a cool child. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aishahnaaz says:

      πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  2. khansana1000 says:

    hahaha , I also had similar stories of my childhood. I was also playing alone as a teacher with my dolls as my students and my mother’s dupatta as my saree πŸ˜€ , Happy to go to school only cried when there was holiday and cannot go to school for few days.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aishahnaaz says:

      Haha.. Me too! After KG, I joined local govt school which gives more freedom than CBSE ones. Also they had this big play ground and a rich library. I used to wait for Mondays with new ideas to try at school πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. khansana1000 says:

        hehehe my lil curious naughty sister!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. aishahnaaz says:

        πŸ˜€ curious is roughly translated as “Pain in the ass” πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

      3. khansana1000 says:

        hahaha sometimes πŸ˜› not always !but look you have fond memories because of it πŸ˜‰ look at it the positive way.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. aishahnaaz says:

        πŸ˜€ yah. I love the kiddo me!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. khansana1000 says:

    we have interesting similarities Aishah πŸ™‚ and it was a great write, loved the narration πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aishahnaaz says:

      Thank you!! πŸ™‚ you always give such sweet words πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. mahekmithare says:

    I love the way you write!!
    Check out mine…if possible.
    https://mahekmithare.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aishahnaaz says:

      Aww.. Thank you very much for your kind words. Ofc I’ll be checking yours πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

