Elixirs of life

It’s not just the plants,

That need the wind;

You need it too,

If not to undulate;

To cool your temper,

To purify you, in and out.

It’s not just the leaves,

That need sunlight;

You need it too,

Not to photosynthesize;

To replenish your soul,

To enlighten your wisdom.

So,

Unlatch those windows,

Unbar those doors and

Throw them wide,

Break free from the ties

That are holding you back,

Come out of your caves.

To,

Bask in the balmy sunshine;

Bathe in the bracing breeze;

Boost your serotonin levels;

Brighten your brain, cleanse your lungs;

Bliss your life, long and young.

~ I go to visit my not-so-well grandma everyday. She’s staying with one of my uncles, and they usually keep the doors and windows closed (Just out of habit). Also they got this big stone walls around the house. I always feel suffocated in there. My gran’s room got large windows on perpendicular sides of the room, and I always lecture her about the benefits of keeping it open at least during daytime. Not that she dunno, but she’s around 90 (according to my calculation) and can’t move so much as hoping on the bed to open the latches. So when I go, I open the windows of her room, or if she’s sitting on the couch, I open the front double door. The way she brighten up at the evening sunlight is a priceless scene. She extends her hands like she want to embrace it. And the wrinkles on her skin will be glowing. I’d sit with her, and she’d start stories of her golden days, about her childhood when she was the princess, or her times as the queen of our ancestral house. And when I get up to go at dusk, she’d ask me not to go, and when I start with my list of things I got to do, she’d be like “Exams, hostel, college.. when am I gonna able to see you as much as I want?” Even if I sit with her an entire day, she’ll ask the same at the end. She love the way I play with her wrinkles. (I love it too..)

The way she light up at the bright sunlight and cool breeze inspired me to write this piece. The featured image taken on my Moto, during one of my morning errands. ~

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Sha'Tara says:

    Sweet, heartfelt and a lovely scene to match. You may want to take another look at these lines and make a correction: “Break free from the ties That holding you back, Come out of your caves.”
    Correction would be, either: “That are holding you back” or “Holding you back” πŸ™‚ Thanks for the gentle walk through your mind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aishahnaaz says:

      Oh. Thank you so much for pointing it out!! I din notice it πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Saiz says:

    😱😱😱 for the photography. It’s truly an amazing one.
    And the poem, and its subject is just amazing. You portrayed it so well that created the imagery in my mind and I felt as if I was there. πŸ™‚
    I told you, poetry, you have it. πŸ˜›
    And plz forgive me for not bringing up the translation of that poem of mine. The days are so entrapping in college, you know.
    Aaj pakka… 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aishahnaaz says:

      Thank you so much saiz. πŸ™‚ the pic came out good because of the good lighting.. Not cuz f me πŸ™‚

      πŸ˜€ ohh. Subhan’ Allah. That’s too much!! I know I don’t have it yet, but may be someday insha Allah.

      It’s ok. No pressures. Take your time. πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Saiz says:

        I am so very sorry for replying so late.
        Here it is: https://ahmadsaiz.wordpress.com/2016/02/01/lucid-deliberations-4-translations-can-never-be-exact/
        I hope you like it. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. aishahnaaz says:

        I loved it. And made me cry!!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Saiz says:

        Aaaww nooo…..I did not want you to cry. πŸ˜›
        Thanks for the opportunity you gave to me. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      4. aishahnaaz says:

        You’re most welcome. I’ll do this again πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Saiz says:

        haha..and I’ll be happy to do it again.
        Because number 5 is coming today. πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

      6. aishahnaaz says:

        Waiting!! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  3. khansana1000 says:

    loved it Aishah and your beautiful anecdote too ! I love greenery ..you know last summer I had my living room all green and white πŸ™‚ i even had green cups and green plates πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aishahnaaz says:

      Thank you so much!! πŸ™‚
      Wow!! That’s awesome!! Green is the color of life. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful expression!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aishahnaaz says:

      Thank you!! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. cshivali says:

    Beautiful post..

    I just followed you.. hope we can help each other ..

    I m glad I found you.😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aishahnaaz says:

      Aww.. Thank you so much! I’ll be checking yours too.. Been away from blogosphere due to exams n all.. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Loved the poem. Truly brings out the essence of staying close to nature…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aishahnaaz says:

      Thank you for your kind words πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

